two gamma event


Monte Carlo Tools for

Beyond the Standard Model Physics


HEFTI Workshop on

Missing Energy Signals at LHC

Apr. 1-4, 2009
University of California Davis

roulette bicylcle wheel
Sponsored in part by:
DE Shaw


This is the 4th MC4BSM workshop, which aims to gather together theorists and experimentalists interested in developing and using Monte Carlo tools for Beyond the Standard Model Physics in an attempt to be prepared for the analysis of data focusing on the Large Hadron Collider. Since a large number of excellent tools already exist for the study of low energy supersymmetry and the MSSM in particular, this workshop will instead focus on tools for alternative TeV-scale physics models. The main goals of the workshop are:

  • To survey what is available. To provide feedback on user experiences with Monte Carlo tools for BSM.
  • To identify promising models (or processes) for which the tools have not yet been constructed and start filling up these gaps.
  • To propose ways to streamline the process of going from models to events, i.e. to make the process more user-friendly so that more people can get involved and perform serious collider studies outside of the MSSM.

We envision small but intensive workshops with a small number of talks and ample time for discussions between model builders, Monte Carlo experts, and experimentalists interested in exotics searches at the Tevatron and the LHC.

In conjunction with MC4BSM, we will also hold a HEFTI workshop which focuses on collider signals of jets/leptons plus missing energy. The purpose is to discuss the strategies to search for new physics with missing energy signals and how to identify the new physics if such experimental signals are discovered. We hope the workshop can bring the experimentalists and theorists working in this area together to develop the best approaches to these problems.

To contact the organizers, please send email to

Organizing committee: Hsin-Chia Cheng, Max Chertok, John Conway, Robin Erbacher, Christophe Grojean, Jack Gunion, Markus Luty, Konstantin Matchev, Steve Mrenna, Maxim Perelstein, Peter Skands, John Terning.

If you have written new programs for MC4BSM, e.g., incorporation of a new model into an event generator, etc, or there are things that you wish to be done, please report them at the workshop wiki page. You are invited to submit questions/topics for discussion through the workshop wiki regardless of whether you plan to attend the workshops in person,

Wiki: programs and the wishlist


Friday Apr. 3

Saturday Apr. 4

slides and mp3s will also be stored here

Suggested reading:


  • Todd Adams (Florida State University)
  • Johan Alwall (SLAC)
  • Ignacio Aracena (SLAC)
  • Stefan Ask (University of Manchester)
  • Yang Bai (Fermilab)
  • Kevin Black (Harvard University)
  • Haiying Cai (UCD)
  • Yi Cai (UCD)
  • Diego Casadei (New York University and CERN)
  • Spencer Chang (UCD)
  • Hsin-Chia Cheng (UCD)
  • Max Chertok (UCD)
  • Neil Christensen (Michigan State University)
  • John Conley (SLAC)
  • John Conway (UCD)
  • Randel Cotta (SLAC)
  • James Dolen (UC Davis)
  • Claude Duhr (Universite catholique de Louvain)
  • Robin Erbacher (UCD)
  • Rouven Essig (SLAC)
  • Jared Evans (UCS)
  • James Gainer (SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory)
  • Jamison Galloway (UCD)
  • Yuri Gershtein (Rutgers)
  • Tanju Gleisberg (SLAC)
  • Hock Seng Goh (UC Berkeley)
  • Jack Gunion (UCD)
  • Andy Haas (SLAC)
  • Zhenyu Han (UCD)
  • Tao Han (Univ. of Wisconsin)
  • Jay Hubisz (Syracuse University)
  • Eder Izaguirre (Stanford University/SLAC)
  • Nemanja Kaloper (UCD)
  • Wai-Yee Keung (University of Illinois at Chicago)
  • Can Kilic (Johns Hopkins University)
  • Ian-Woo Kim (University of Wisconsin - Madison)
  • Partha Konar (University of Florida )
  • K.C. Kong (Fermilab)
  • Carley Kopecky (UCD)
  • Dick Lander (UCD)
  • Greg Landsberg (Brown University)
  • Mariangela Lisanti (Stanford University/SLAC)
  • Peter Loch (University of Arizona)
  • Markus Luty (UCD)
  • Michael Manhart (Stanford University)
  • Adam Martin (Yale University)
  • Konstantin Matchev (University of Florida)
  • John McRaven (UCD)
  • Anibal Medina (UC Davis)
  • Bruce Mellado (CERN)
  • Tia Miceli (UC Davis)
  • Filip Moortgat (ETH Zurich)
  • Meenakshi Narain (Brown University)
  • Jason Nielsen (UC Santa Cruz)
  • Victor Pavlunin (UC, Santa Barbara)
  • Maxim Perelstein (Cornell University)
  • Michael Peskin (SLAC, Stanford University)
  • Matt Reece (Princeton University)
  • Tom Rizzo (SLAC)
  • Albert De Roeck (CERN)
  • Martin Schmaltz (Berkeley / Boston U.)
  • Philip Schuster (SLAC)
  • Ariel Schwartzman (SLAC)
  • Peter Skands (Fermilab)
  • David Stancato (UCD)
  • David Stuart (UC Santa Barbara)
  • Shufang Su (University of Arizona)
  • Anyes Taffard (UC Irvine)
  • John Terning (UCD)
  • Natalia Toro (Stanford University)
  • Jay Wacker (SLAC)
  • Lian-Tao Wang (Princeton University)
  • Gordon Watts (University of Washington, Seattle)
  • Tom Wright (University of Michigan)
  • Daniel Wyler (U Zurich)
  • Hai-Bo Yu (UCIrvine)
2009/mc4bsm.txt ยท Last modified: 2021/12/01 14:37 (external edit)
Recent changes RSS feed Creative Commons License Powered by PHP