UC Davis
High Energy Frontier
Theory Initiative

The faculty, postdocs, and students of the High Energy Physics theory group engage in a wide variety of research aimed at understanding the most fundamental building blocks of nature. Our research interests include supersymmetry, supergravity, quantum gravity, general relativity, extra space-time dimensions, particle dark matter, high-energy scattering theory, lattice QCD, and phenomenological implications of string theory. Specific interests of each faculty member can be found on the group members page. Visitors should find some helpful information on the our Visitor Information page. Current faculty and postdoc openings are listed in the Open Positions

Seminars and Workshops

We have particle and cosmology theory seminars on Mondays, phenomenological seminars on Tuesdays, and LHC discussions at lunch on Wednesdays. The detailed schedule can be found on our calendar, while a summary of upcoming events and slides from recent talks can be found in the seminar archive. There is a mailing list for seminar announcements that you can subscribe to.

We have also been hosting a series of topical workshops that focus on discussion and interaction rather than formal presentations.

Public Lectures

Part of the mission of the HEFTI initiative is to bring the excitement of the field to the general public. We sponsor public lectures where we bring in the best-known and most dynamic lecturers in the field. Past lecturers include such luminaries as Lisa Randall, Leonard Susskind, and Nobel Prize Winner David Gross.


Five New Hires for Quantum Mathematics and Physics

The Physics department has hired four new faculty and Math has hired one new faculty, all in the areas of quantum field theory, gravity, and strings. Veronika Hubeny and Mukund Rangamani arrived in the Physics department this September, Jaroslav Trnka will arrive in December, and Sergei Dubovsky and will begin July 2016. Tudor Dimofte will join the Math department in 2016. All the positions are part of campus Hiring Investment Program. The new hires and the current high-energy and cosmology faculty will be working together to start a new center called “The Center for Quantum Mathematics and Physics,” or QMAP for short. To kick things off, all five new faculty members were in Davis to give talks on their research on October 29-30, and met with Dean Navrotsky and Provost Hexter at an informal reception.

QMAP reception 2015-10-29

QMAP reception 2015-10-29

More news...

Particle Physics

Particle physics and gravity are subjects filled with unanswered questions, making it an interesting and challenging field of research. A good introduction to many of the basic questions that we study is found at The Particle Adventure.

Much of our work involves close collaboration with theorists and experimentalists at leading particle physics institutions throughout the world, including LBL in Berkeley, California, SLAC at Stanford University, CERN in Geneva, Switzerland, and Fermilab near Chicago, Illinois.

More About HEFTI

We have just completed a major expansion of the theory effort within the framework of the High Energy Frontier Theory Initiative (HEFTI). Following the recommendations of an external committee composed of Howard Haber, Joe Lykken (Chair) and Pierre Ramond, this expansion focused on the theory and phenomenology of strings, branes and extra dimensions and led to the hiring of three new faculty members: John Terning, Hsin-Chia Cheng and Markus Luty (in chronological order). Details of the program and the committee's recommendations can be found here . The other members of the high energy group are: Steve Carlip, John Gunion, Nemanja Kaloper and Joe Kiskis.